Saw Schnitzel, ate schnitzel… didn’t die!

I know…I can hear a few people I know counting and calculating the calories as they look at that. I get it- that is not a ‘healthy’ meal, per say. It’s no dieter’s meal for sure. But oh my goodness was it delicious.

Schnitzel Griechische Art beim Drei Linden

I love steak. Yep. I love Schnitzel too – that’s what that monstrous beast is if you’re wondering, it’s not, in fact, a whole animal or an extra-terrestrial being. I also, in case you hadn’t guessed, love my body- I love exercise and eating healthily and looking after my body to the best of my ability. But eating that monster there and keeping my body fit and healthy are not mutually exclusive; therein lies the problem with a lot of diets, and attitudes in general, these days.

It’s not like I go out and eat Schnitzel from that restaurant every night and I certainly wouldn’t recommend it. I do, however, know that a little bit of most things is okay now and again- if your favourite food is bacon that’s not a crime. If you really love cheese (hi, yes, I do too!), don’t stop eating it to keep to a soulless diet. Food makes us happy, and the love of food is a really healthy powerful thing. Food is fuel, fuel equals miles. I believe it’s much healthier to eat a variety of exciting food than to limit yourself to one type of food or cut off multiple food groups because of their bad factors. We all have our light and dark side right? Well then, don’t hate on all fats just because some of them are bad for you!

British Schnitzel Outing

Now straight up and honest the only healthy thing on my Schnitzel was the feta cheese; however I don’t think that treating yourself to something wonderfully indulgent once in a while is ever a disaster, definitely not something worth punishing yourself over or thinking you’ve failed your diet. For me, planning evenings where I eat meals like this is essential, it helps you not go crazy and order burger and chips at midnight or suddenly stuff an entire bag of candy floss down your face because you’re stressed. You could call it damage control, I call it damn good. Either way- don’t be scared of the steak, slim healthy humans consume that stuff too.

2 thoughts on “Saw Schnitzel, ate schnitzel… didn’t die!

  1. I have enjoyed reading your blog. I would love for you to follow my running challenge run100run.wordpress.com

  2. OH WOW!!!!! That Schnitzel looks AMAZING!!! I love Schnitzels… with cheese sause. Yumm!!! Loved your blog. So many people don’t understand the everything in moderation thing about eating healthy. Peace.

Leave a Reply

